剑知北美生活快报   版面列表   admin登录
JiansNet Logo

My Job Hunt - Tips for Software Developers Who Are Recent Grads

by JC, published: 2009-08-14 21:44 viewed: 316 times
想了解更多的美国生活窍门?请订阅: JC写的剑知北美生活快报。
I got a programming job offer from a really good, medium-sized, cutting-edge finance firm today. They don't develop software for sale but their internal systems were complex, distributed, and real-time; they paid a lot of attention to algorithms, systems and low-level knowledge, and coding, a lot like Google. More on that later. I mostly want to share my job search experience and point out some lessons I learned and tips and pitfalls for people like me. With faith and a bit of persistence, you can do it!

I graduated in June with a CS degree from a good state university on the west coast. Because of the economic environment and the fact that I need an H1B visa, I knew that things would be very tough. I had a high GPA and two successful internship experiences, but new grads just don't compete all that well, I thought.

I started looking for jobs in April. The company that I worked for during the last internship decided not to sponsor H1Bs and subsequently not offer me a full-time position during OPT, which was a big blow. I went on sites like Monster, Dice, CareerBuilder, etc. and browsed thousands of jobs. A lot of them necessarily wouldn't work because they required citizenship, gc, or experience. Some say that the requirement of 2-3 years of experience could be ignored if you present yourself really well or go through referrals, but I haven't had any luck. I talked to a pretty well-connected professor but all he could give me was job fairs and postings on the school site.